Where is home?

20130215_163056How long will I stay here? Well that’s a good question.

When we undertake a trip, involving or not a move, we should know the return date. Return? What does it mean exactly? Coming to the point where I was before? Because if this is so, I will not return. I embarked on this adventure because something did not work. Or because I wanted to experience or improve any area of ​​my life. And no, I wish not to return to the starting point.

Or maybe, in a “trip” like mine, it implies a geographical shift, returning is coming back at home? At home, not to the starting point.

And, to complicate the meaning of words, what does “go home” mean? I suppose the answer immediately, for me, would be to return to my parent’s. I have not lived there for fifteen years. And it is not because of the house, but for them, so what does it involve for me: safety, security and warmth. Is that what we understand by home? Refuge? Defense and heat for our soul?

I have no a couple or children and my family are my parents. If you live with your partner and your children and you have a good relationship with your parents, tell me, what is for you to be at home? I don’t think you can replace one home for another one. I understand that both of them are there together. Is that right, so?

When my parents will come to visit, despite being out of my country, will I feel at home? And do I do when I talk to them? And when, even without talking to them, but I know they are here? Do I feel at home? Well, I think so.

Perhaps, it’s because I had a healthy childhood and a good base was built up for me? Some insurance basics, warm support, and the knowledge that everything will go well and that I am protected.

Parents, childhood home, the warm feeling of protection … I’m not sure that my today father and  mother are the reason for that feeling of belonging to the household. Rather I think it is somewhere that I “am” now and if it was created by what they were once. Do you feel the same?

Moreover, we often need to identify our home with a physical space. Here we call it Spain. And we have a double sense: on the one hand, “we are from there” and another, “we are from the world” and both feelings coexist in harmony. At least, they should. I know people who live far from their home country and they yearn  to return. But at the same time, when they go home they feel sadly separated from their host site. To our emotional health we have to accept that our house is in two (or more) places.

Why do we use to talk about Spain? For two reasons, I think.  Our personal and cultural history. On one hand, we have grown there. Our life has evolved into a place, with customs, some friends, some spaces and countless experiences that occurred in our country (in our city, if we refine more).

And moreover, we drink from a culture inherited from our parents. My mother was born in France and has always been Spanish. Undoubtedly. My uncles and my mother lived her childhood in France, but they were in a Spanish home. They had inherited the awareness of belonging to a place that was far from the house where they lived.

Finally, and leaving nothing clear, then I have just chatted and nothing I’ve concluded, I want to dedicate this post to all the people who did not grow up in a loving home and they did not feel in his childhood the safety and security that everyone should have in childhood.

Good news is that human beings have a capacity to recover all, resilience. It’s not me who says that. It’s the psychologists and psychiatrists who wrote the books I’ve read on this subject.

There are children who do not get enough love in the younger age. Some, who grew up in a concentration camp and some abused. And this is very hard and complicated, it may leave aftermaths for the rest of their lives. Security issues, self-esteem, lack of capacity to receive and give the love that they did not live at the time. And also can recover! Accept that this was the case and that they can create a home within itself. They can rescue the child who they were and invite him/her to this new home.

In recent years I have seen two people very close to me have built their own home. They didn’t have all the love in childhood that builds a warm house where you always want to return. And they have managed to produce it. Growing. Loving and loving themselves.

32 comentarios

  1. Hi there, I found your blog via Google at the same time as searching for a comparable topic, your site
    came up, it seems to be great. I have bookmarked it in
    my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just was aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to
    be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciate should you continue this in future. Lots of people will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

    1. Hello! Thank you very much for your words.
      I will try to translate the posts to English little by little. And I hope people like them as Spanish readers do.
      Thanks again.
      Regards,
      Geles

  2. You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the web for additional information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site.

    1. Hello,
      Thank you very much for your comment.
      Regards,
      Geles

  3. Asking questions are truly fastidious thing if you are not understanding anything completely, however this post provides good understanding even.

    1. Thank you for your comment. Several times I ask myself about questions and I don’t have the answers, but just thinking is fun for me.
      Regards!

  4. I do not create a comment, however I looked at a few of the comments on Where is home?
    | Arquitectura y Emoción. I actually do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s okay. Could it be only me or do a few of the remarks appear like they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social sites, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of all your social networking sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    1. Hello! First of all, thank you for reading the post and for your comment.
      Where I participate in an active way is here. Also, I have facebook: “Geles Rivera” and I’m related to several Spanish blogs and pages. Are you interested, even if they are in Spanish?
      Regards,
      Geles

  5. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

    1. Hello! And welcome to the blog’s world!! If you are thinking to create your own blog, you are already a blogger.
      Some advice: start. Even if you don’t have everything clear. You can write with the minimum about image, etc. Don’t wait to know everything becouse you will never start.
      Actually, I don’t know a lot of things and I published more then 100 posts.
      The most importat: choose a subjet that you love. You should to be motivated.
      Encourage, good luck and… start!!
      Geles

  6. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

    1. Yes, sometimes I have problems to upload the pictures. Tray to recuce the size. If they have less than 1Mb, it’s easier. Good luck!

  7. It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it is time to be happy. I have read this publish and if I may just I want to counsel you few attention-grabbing issues or suggestions. Perhaps you could write subsequent articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

    1. Thank you very much for your suggestion.
      Actually, I have several articles in Spanish, I will translate them little by little.
      Regards,
      Geles

  8. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I am experiencing problems with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having similar RSS issues? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    1. Thank you very much for your comments!!
      More people said me that they have problems also, I will tray to klnow why.
      If you like this article, maybe you will do others. I’m translating them from Spanish. Little by little, I will publish them in English.
      Regards!!
      Geles

  9. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually recognise what you are talking
    approximately! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my website =).
    We could have a link change contract among us

    1. Thank you very much. I glad you liked it.
      I visited your website… can I see it in English? It looks like very interesting but I cannot read it 😦
      We are in contact.
      Regards,
      Geles

  10. Nice blog here! Additionally your site rather a lot
    up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I get your affiliate hyperlink on your host?
    I wish my website loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    1. Thank you again. It is wordpress.com Of, corse, you can. Actually, I’m glad with it and it’s free.
      Regards!
      Geles

  11. I’m no longer certain where you are getting your information, but great topic. I must spend a while studying much more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission.

    1. Thank you Cara. I use to work with houses and another buildings but I’m pretty interested in what “home” means. Everyone understands what it means, right?
      Regards!
      Geles

  12. Wonderful web site. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you in your sweat!

    1. Thank you very much for your words. It’s so nice reading comments like yours.
      With some effort, I’m traslating my Spanish posts to English and when I have this kind of comment, I understand that it worth.

  13. Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed
    in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

    1. Thank you for your words. And I’m sorry, I don’t know how to do it…
      Regards!

  14. Thank you, I’ve recently been looking for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have came upon so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?

    1. Thank you very much. It’s a very nice comment. About the conclusion… it’s supposed that they are right. Actually, it’s a very sensitive subject and I want to belive that it’s possible.
      Hugs,
      Geles

  15. After checking out a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I truly
    like your technique of writing a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking
    back in the near future. Take a look at my website too and
    let me know your opinion.

    1. Hello,
      Thank you very much for reading the blog and for your comment.
      I saw your website but I cannot understand it. Can I visite it in English? Actually, I’m very interested in subjects related to healthy alimentation
      Regards,
      Geles

  16. Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a material! existing here at this website, thanks admin of this website.

    1. Thank you very much Embassy. I have many posts in Spanish, I’ll translate them little by little.
      Regards,
      Geles

Responder

