Catharsis

 

Catharsis. The first time I listened to this word was at my second course in university, in a subject called Aesthetics and Composition. Aranda, our teacher, explained to us that one of art –and architecture- objectives was a cathartic function. I cannot remember if it was in our spirit, mind or wherever. The artist, through his creation, becomes free or he lets off steam from his anxieties or worrying emotions.

All of us we have in our memories the image of an artist from cinema or literature who is desperate and at that moment hi is capable to do his best creations. Emotions and passions that torture him are the cause of those works. And he or she achieves to become free from those worries.

Catharsis refers to that liberation through an art production. An architecture work, a novel, or a painting will depend on the emotional condition of its producer at the moment of creation. I thing all of us have felt that sensation in some moment. How do you express when you have a big emotional load? I refer to creations that free you. They become the container of those emotions. That’s the reason because there are so much expressive.

Have you ever written in an automatic way? Sometimes we are sad or angry and we transfer in a paper our feelings directly, don’t thinking what we are noting. It’s a way to relieve. We drop a part of them in the paper. Those texts are usually very strong. Nevertheless, if we are calm and we write, our narrations will be lighter.

I’ve felt this sensation of catharsis through two means: spaces and words. In the moments on biggest emotional worries I’ve designed surprising spaces, even for myself. In addition, I’ve achieve the calm. I’ve shown that writing. In the emotionally stronger moments of my life I’ve written incredible texts. And I could put up with the situation because of writing.

How do you express your strong emotional moments? Do you write songs, do you pint, do you dance, do you draw? What way do you channel your emotions by? If you know it, you can start the activity when the emotion arrives. So you will do a good work and you will free your feelings.

In my emotional management classes I ask the teenagers if they can identify anger, sadness, or fear as good or bad emotions. They say, quickly, “bad”. Next question is if are they always bad. Afterwards I use examples where a moment of anger emotion or a bit of sadness is positive. In the same way, so much joy or enthusiasm maybe not good. Could we say that we enjoy ourselves from some art works created because of a horrible moment in the author life?

Finally, all we have one or several ways to express our strong emotions. We can use them to achieve our wellness. We start today!

5 comentarios

  1. […] a cabo los dos. O mejor, me he decidido a empezar un proyecto un poco más largo. Necesito una catar-sis para hacer fluir todas estas palabras que pelean por salir. Decidido, voy a escribir un […]

  2. Hi there, always i used to check web site posts here early in the break of day, as i
    like to find out more and more.

    1. Hello! I hope you enjoy your breaks so.
      Little by little I will tray to translate to English all my posts. If you like, you can read them.
      Regards,
      Geles

  3. Asking questions are genuinely fastidious thing if you are not understanding anything totally, but this paragraph offers pleasant understanding yet.

    1. Thank you very much! Sometimes I like asking qestions to invite people to think. Or to share these questions…
      Regards!!

Responder

